NYFW Fall 2013: Red Valentino

red valentino cover

If you have been following my blog for a while now, you’ll notice that this season’s coverage is a little bit different from my previous ones. The reason? I’ve been blogging for about two years and I have learned to recognize what my readers like and also, I have learned to organize my time and posts always maintaining a good quality in my images and text (I’ve found that putting five or six reviews in one post is just too much to handle, for myself and for my visitors). That’s why I have decided to focus on one show a day. How it works? From the day’s line-up I will choose the one show that really made an impact and review it (accompanied by one of my illustrations, of course). Even though today was the official day 1 (always after the AMFAR Gala), yesterday some collections were presented.  Among those was a special one, it was love at first sight: RED VALENTINO.

RED VALENTINO

“Dreamy Valentino”, that’s how people usually call the brand, and you know what? Over the seasons, Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli have done just that, they have made us dream. Collection after collection, they keep on nailing it in the most romantic and sophisticated way. From their elaborate laces and meticulous embroideries to their ladylike shapes and spot on tailoring, they get as close to perfection as they could possibly get. I’ve said it before and I will say it again, Monsieur Garavani must be a very, very proud man. The second line of the brand, Red Valentino, presented the Fall 2013 collection yesterday in New York City. And once again, the designer duo managed to take our breath away.

The candy forest wallpaper said it all, it was a fairy tale inspired collection: Hansel & Gretel. The folk influence was clearly there, but it was playful, it was young and it was beyond beautiful. Their petticoat dresses and skirts were embellished with flowers and hand painted prints. Waistlines were accented with pretty bows. The capes were particularly pretty, but prettier were the ankle strap pumps and the knee socks. It was all so picture perfect, is was like it came out of a story book (a book I would love to live in).

Sweet kisses…

PS: Ready for more Fashion Week shows? Keep checking back!

Illustrations: Ana Sofia Alanis
Image sources:  Style.com

All texts, illustrations and collages are made by me, it’s forbidden to re-post without previous request (sweetnrawme@gmail.com) and images must link back to this site

1 Comment

Filed under Pret-a-porter, Runway Diaries

One response to “NYFW Fall 2013: Red Valentino

  1. I love your illustration on this collection. I think I need to talk about it on my blog!

Leave a Reply

