Spring Trends Know-how: Color Blocking

In my previous post Spring Obsessions: Color Blocking Essentials I gave you some tips about what to buy in order to pull off this kind of look, very IN this season. For today’s post I have put together three different looks, each featuring the different items I listed before. This so you can see how I do color blocking. There are no rules for doing it yourself, just go with whatever you think looks good. This are just mere Sw&Rw suggestions.

LOOK 1:

This is can work for day or night. I chose a hot pink blazer with cuffed sleeves (you can also find it in Orange). The fit is great and it is very flattering. I paired it with skin-tight ankle trousers, you can find these in every retail store and in lots of colors. These are cotton and also stretch. For the top, I went for a loose silk button down. Any blouse will work as long as it falls naturally when you tuck it in. You don’t want a structured shirt. You can see her bra, I know, I can see it too. I you have small bust, any bra will do. If you have large breasts (like me) go for a bra with more coverage and without the push up, you don’t wanna look like your twins are about to choke the life out of you. For the shoes, colored platform pumps are the way to go. Accessories, I love the way gold blends in with the color clash.  A long pendant, two solid rings and a cuff or bracelet (this ASOS claw one is to die for!) will do the trick. For beauty, highlight your look with a soft, peachy shade. And for the bag, Furla’s see through Candy is perfect and also affordable (I love this bag).

-Blazer, Zara, $60 -Trousers, Zara, $30 -Blouse, ASOS, $75 -Suede pumps, Steve Madden, $89.95 -Safety pin ring, ASOS, $10 – Solid ring, Topshop, $11 -Teadrop pendant, Miss Selfridge, $23.50 -Claw clamp, ASOS, $25.50 -Lipstick, Rouge Dior in Andaluse, $38 – Candy bag, Furla.

LOOK 2:

Makes you think “Tutti Frutti”, doesn’t it? Color blocking green, yellow and pink is absolutely a personal favorite. For this outfit I chose a green solid, volume skirt. It’s very flattering, even useful on those day where bloating is present. You should pair it whith a solid top. I like those sleeveless with a silky finish. I think they manage to look natural and flawless when tucked in. Since we  have a lot going on, for the shoes I chose nude peep toes. These ones are great because they are not the typical style. The wooden chunky heel gives them a twist. For accessories, I chose my favorite belt for the season, the colored braided one. As I have told you before, Zara has them in green, pink, blue and camel. For jewelry I chose a chain necklace with the word Love in it. I would love to have one with my name, so if any of you know where I can get one, I would appreciate it. Chain, gold and nude bracelet and a golden bangle. We don’t want to overwhelm nor channel a Jackson Pollock gone bad painting, we want to look perfectly chic. For the bag, again Jil Sander. Mind blowing Jil Sander. So if you can’t own that fabulous orange ruffle skirt or the goregous flower print maxi dress, make a mental note to own at least a piece of this show-stopper! Even the makeup bag would do!

-Skirt, Zara, $38 -Silky tank, Zara, $28 -Braided belt, Zara, $10 -Nude peep toes, Steve Madden $99.95 -Love neckalce, Forever21, $3.80 -Gold bangle, Forever21. $4.80

LOOK 3:

Skin-tight jersey dresses are very resourceful. They can look totally different depending on how you combine them and what accessories you add to the mix. I chose this cropped, off-shoulder, knitted jumper with sheer (also knitted) panels. I paired the look with caged, coral, platform sandals but if you are going casual, ditch the heels and wear some flirty colorful sandals. For accessories, I went for an ethnic style mixed with golden bangles and rings, simple gold one and colorful statement ones. Color your lips with a bright fuchsia shade. Always go for creamy lipsticks, they give a better effect. YSL and Dolce & Gabbana have great quality ones. For the bag, go big and colorful. And slouchy. Like this Jil Sander Market leather purse (Raf Simmons seems to have done everything to perfection this season).

-Jersey dress, ASOS, $33.50 -Cropped jumper, RiverIsland, $50 – Caged heels, Bakers, $59.99 -Bracelets, Forever21, $5.80 -Love ring, ASOS, $13.35 – Enamel purple ring, ASOS, $13.35 – Pink cut out ring, Topshop, $14 – Provocative Pink Lipstick, YSL, $34 -Market bag, Jil Sander

So there you have it, my three alternatives to successful Color Blocking (at least from my point of view). With this trend, possibilities are endless. So start mixing!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Spring Trends Know-how: Color Blocking

  1. ana

    lo que es tener talent0 flora……………….

  2. anasofiaag

    Grazie Jaime. Love

Leave a Reply

